‘Dansoman Great Somax’ wins Babyjet U-16 Tournament

.......organizers name dream team


Dansoman-based Great Somax emerged champions of the maiden Asamoah Gyan (BABYJET) Invitational Under 16 Football Tournament held at the Accra Academy Astro Turf.

Parading a great potential best footballer in the person of sensational forward Mathew Cudjoe, the Dansoman lads came, saw and conquered all opposition.

Cudjoe, nicknamed Messi, bagged six goals – more than any player –, scored the only hat-trick and was crowned overall Best Player.

The competition held at the Asamoah Gyan Sports Complex, lived up to expectations as the teenagers delivered memorable moments; last-gasp heroics, gravity-defying saves, stunning goals.

The 16 teams that participated include Nigerian sides ATFA FC (Lagos) and Campos Football Academy (Owerri).

Togolese side Pison Divine Royals Int. Foundation Academy and Academy Ro Mario will be joined by Ivorian duo All-Stars FC and Zenox FC.

The local teams that featured were Great Somas, Cheetah FC, Bolga Soccer Masters, Star Madrid FC, Cedar Stars Academy and Charity Stars.

“The maiden edition of the BabyJet U-16 tournament was a great success, we look forward to next year, when more team could be invited and expand the tournament” said Sammy Anim Addo, CEO of the Baby Jet Foundation.

He also thanked all the sponsors of the event including Champion Dishes who were the official meal provider and Twillium Industries, producers of Run Energy Drink, Rush and Verna Water.

After a successful organisation of the maiden edition of the Baby Jet Promotions Under-16 tournament, organisers have released the Dream Team.

The 25-man team is made up of players that excelled in the competition held at the Asamoah Gyan Soccer Complex in Accra.

Great Somax, who exhibited some good football in all four matches, defeated  Cedar Star Academy 2-1 in the finals of the competition.Image result for dela ahiawor

In all 16 teams participated in the competition with five clubs from five other African countries.

Below is a list of the players in the Dream Team:

1. Philip Goldan- Bolga Masters

2. Rashid Okine- Great Somas

3. Stephen Sackey- Dansoman Barcelona

4. Takyi Otoo Bonney – Great Somas

5. Azubire Nathaniel- Bolga Masters

6.Samuel Mawuena – new life

7. Moses Abbey – Great somas

8. Gideon Boateng – Cheetah

9. Mohamed Gouni – Attram De-Visser

10. Matthew Cudjoe – Great Somas

11. Gabriel Asampana – Bolga masters

12. Abdul Manaf  Ibrahim – Attram De-Visser

13. Fred Nii Noi Nortey – New Life

14. Iddrisu Aziz – Bolga Soccer Masters

15. Prince Annor – Scores Academy

16. Gideon Owusu – Dansoman Barcelona

17. Solomon Sosu – DansomanBarcelonaa

18. Godwin  Agbevor – Scores academy

19. Abdul Mumin Isaka – Bolga masters

20. Eric Kavi – Attram

21. Felix Abuska – cedar stars

22. Emmanuel Agyemang – Cedar Stars

23. Emmanuel Bio – Cheetah FC

24. Abdul Manaf Anor – Dansoman Barcelona

25. Baba Hanza Mohammed- New Life Academy

By Sammy Heywood Okine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button